Press Release

Press Release - For Immediate Release…

For Immediate Distribution…

And the winners are….
5 September 2001 - Following weeks of anticipation and industry debate the winners of the much-awaited CommsWorld Telecomms Awards 2001 have been announced - and could it have been closer?

"The standard of submissions was exceptional." Said judging panel Chairman, Keith Barks of CommsWorld. "Selecting just one winner in each category proved most difficult, indeed impossible for the Excellence in Innovation award." The judging panel, which consisted of Allan Horsley, Member, ACA; Ross Monaghan, CEO, Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association; Rosemary Sinclair, Managing Director, Australian Telecommunications Users Group; Lynn Canalese, Telecommunications Analyst, JP Morgan; Chris Bennett, Director, Technology Venture Partners; Rebecca Mawson, Commercial Manager, Telecommunications Users Association of New Zealand Inc; Geoff Letts, Research Director, The Yankee Group and Shara Evans, Managing Director, Telsyte had their work cut out. However, after many hours of agonising deliberation the judging panel did manage to pare down the shortlist, compiled from votes from industry, to just 11 winners:

Mobile application of the year BlueSkyFrog
Mobile carrier of the year Vodafone New Zealand
Broadband wholesale carrier of the year PowerTel
Broadband retail carrier of the year Optus@Home
Rural & regional telecommunications AAPT
Hardware manufacturer of the year Cisco Systems
Software vendor of the year Clarity International
Best advertising campaign AAPT Smartchat
Excellence in innovation joint winners - Redfern Photonics &
South West Alliance of Rural Hospitals (SWARH)
Sir Ernest Fisk Award
for significant contribution to the telecomms industry
Ross Halgren, Chief Engineer,
Redfern Broadband Networks

Congratulations to all the winners.

The gala dinner, designed as an opportunity for the Australian & New Zealand Telecommunications industry to celebrate the phenomenal innovation and groundbreaking work which had taken place over the last year, went without a hitch. Peter FitzSimons, the renowned columnist for the Sydney Morning Herald and the Awards host, brought just the right amount of suspense and humour to the proceedings.

Wednesday 5 September 2001.
For more information:
Rebecca Luing, CommsWorld
(+61 2) 9080 4356